Giving Back!!!

April 21, 2014

There are so many things in life that make me happy. One of the biggest things that make me truly happy is when I “Give back”.

blogphoto1

Today, I received my two items I purchased off of the Autismspeaks.org website. I felt like a kid in a candy store, when I opened the package. I felt like, I donated to a cause that I love, but I also got a really cool pen, that “lights up blue” (I have a huge pen fetish) and a post-it organizer. Another thing I try to do is wear the color “blue” in April in support of “Light It Up Blue” campaign for Autism.

wpid-wp-1396459910455.png

I am a preschool teacher by day, so any cause that deals with children and helping them out, I feel excited to help in any way I can. I think Autism is one “disability” that some parents are afraid to deal with, or just do not want to hear the words “your child has autism”. I think by parents having available websites and other resources, it will allow parents a sense of relief, knowing they are not alone and they have support.

I try to give back to causes that have some personal effect in my life or someone who is close to me. Usually I would do monetary donations, walking or running for a cause, or volunteering as part of a committee. Unfortunately, at this time in my life, I do not have time to join a committee, so donating money or walking is my means of supporting any important cause.

In the end, I choose to donate to this particular cause (Autism), because I find joy when I have given back and it brings certain happiness to my heart, and a smile to my face, knowing I have made a small difference.
http://www.autismspeaks.org

Other causes I support
• Breast cancer
• March of Dimes
• AIDS Walk of San Francisco
• Girls Inc.
Shante
What are causes or organizations you support?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

